Problem with time series prediction

You work on a certain topic or data set and don't know how to start off with it using MemBrain? Not sure if your net design matches your problem or if there is room for optimization? Is it reasonable at all to approach your problem with NNs? Is MemBrain the correct tool to accomplish your task and to match your infrastructure?

These questions are best placed here!
fabbie

Problem with time series prediction

Post by fabbie »

Hello there!

I'm a totally newbie on ANN and Membrain stuff, that's why i'm asking for your help...

So, I'm doing a project for the developing of an ANN for the prediction of the price of the copper.
I tried a first ANN with a forecast horizon of 1 month, with 5 input neurons t-4,t-3,t-2,t-2,t-1,t , output t+1 and one hidden neuron ( I also compared other ANNs with more hidden neurons but the result doesn't improve).Training set of 23 patterns and test set of 20 patterns. I think i got quite good result. An error on the training set of 0.00121453 and on the validation set of 0.00191616.

Then i decided to extend the time-frame of the prediction to three months, i tried different layouts and different input format like:

- Input: t-4,t-3,t-2,t-2,t-1,t Output: t+3
- Input: t-12,t-9,t-6,t-3,t Output: t+3

But the error is still large, in the first case something like 0.006 on the validation set and in the second case the trending of the error increases without getting stable so there is something of totally wrong.

So do you guys have any suggestions? Which is the best approach? I also tried by using the delay,decay and differential neurons but i really didn't get how do they should work...

Thank you in advance, hope you can help me...
TJetter

Re: Problem with time series prediction

Post by TJetter »

Hi there!